“Super heavy elements, upgrade me”…my two year plan, part two.

So general response to part one was quite simply “don’t grow up”! There may be some sense in that although bills to pay, mouths to feed etc…so I will continue to give my career some thought. Only yesterday a former colleague asked me when I was going back to work. Hell, my kids ask me when I’m going back to work. I think they want to get rid of me.

With part one still in progress, I will tell you about part two of the two year plan today. Now, if you are a mother, or even not, you will know that you change in so many ways when you have a child. You are not the centre of your world anymore. You come bottom of the list of priorities. It’s natural, but here I am with a chance to turn this around. Two years to do something about my health and my fitness. My nutrition is pretty good. Of course I could cut back on wine and chocolate, but I am a mother to two young kids and occasionally you need these, like, really need them. I am not one for diets. I cook from scratch most nights and consider the nutritional value of the food I feed my family. I’m no angel and of course there are takeaways every now and again, but that is because I am a) realistic about food and life and b) think that a little bit of everything in moderation does you no harm. Food to me is a pleasure. I love to cook and to eat. I love to try new things. I don’t just eat to survive, it gives me joy.

What I need to do is up the exercise and get into a routine. Pre children we used to set our alarms for 5am and go to the gym before work every day of the week. Sometimes we would go after work too. I “ran” (I hate that word, whatever happened to jog – why do people never jog these days?) two half marathons. I boxed for fitness with a private trainer, I went to yoga and pilates to relax. I was a pretty active person, but then life happened and the exercise, the routine and I got pushed to the bottom of the list.

So where am I at with the plan now? I have a pass for ten gym visits. I’m going to use those and see how I feel about a gym membership again. This has worked for me in the past. Tonight I have downloaded the timetable to see what classes I can do three times a week. If I can get this routine started and make a habit of it I know I can make it work.

What do I want to achieve? Quite simply, a healthier me. I want to feel better in my own skin. I don’t know what I weigh and to be honest it doesn’t bother me: There are no scales in our house. I know that my body shape has changed since giving birth to two beautiful daughters; my body is pretty damn amazing for being able to do that. I want to feel healthier, sleep better and have more energy. Essentially that will make me a better me, and a better role model for my girls.

I’ll update you on my progress here. If you’ve got any tips or ideas please feel free to comment. I’d love to hear from you.

02

 

Author: miraclesofmatter

Living the kiwi dream, ex-pat Brit in Auckland, NZ. Mother to two girls. Interested in anything and everything.

3 thoughts on ““Super heavy elements, upgrade me”…my two year plan, part two.”

  1. If you make it your top priority for 2-3 weeks you will easily get back into routine with exercise. After two weeks of going nuts with mine I feel really good and energised. It’s so worth it!

    Like

  2. I can’t recommend walking enough. I lost three stone by just eating healthily and walking, I did no other exercise at all. I have a pedometer which I find really motivating if I set myself a daily step target. And walking you can do anytime and anywhere. March round the house at midnight to get your steps up if you need to, march on the spot in front of the TV. I’m guessing for you actually getting to a gym or getting to classes might be challenging because it takes you away from the girls and means you need someone there to look after them but walks you can do as a family. Plus you’ve got a lot of great locations to walk in right on your doorstep.

    Like

Leave a Reply

