“The world sleeps at different times. With one turn your day is now my night”…why I love Twitter so much.

Today started off badly. I woke up, essentially still in the middle of the night, at 4.15am. No children up, but the humidity and heat here was unbearable. I got an email that pissed me off. I got a phone call that meant that I was housebound again for the third day in a row. It was not the morning I was hoping for.

After ranting at the husband while he rushed around looking for keys, wallet, phone etc on his way to work, I took to Twitter to vent my (anger is too harsh a word) dismay, and there it was, support from people I have and haven’t met online. I am generally a very positive person so of course I apologised for my negativity. Don’t want strangers thinking I’m a nutcase of course.

The support and love on Twitter is fantastic. I first realised this when I was up for night feeds with my eldest daughter when she was an infant. At 2am in New Zealand most are tucked up in bed, but I was able to chat on my iPod (my weapon of choice at the time) with people who were enjoying their days in Europe. My multi tasking skills are second to none.

Five years on this support and connection continues. There is not a day goes by where people don’t say ‘Good Morning’ or ‘Good Night’. If you see people saying something like this in your timeline take the opportunity to reply, I have no doubt whatsoever that you will put a smile on someone’s face.

So, today I am a sleep deprived, frazzled, frizzy mess, but a few choice words from a few people online in New Zealand AND around the world have cheered me up.

If you want to say “Good Day” to me on Twitter follow me @NZ_judester – I’ll definitely wave back.

 

Author: miraclesofmatter

Living the kiwi dream, ex-pat Brit in Auckland, NZ. Mother to two girls. Interested in anything and everything.

Leave a Reply

